## Chemistry students' participation in the national level conference

The Department of Chemistry, Government Arts and Science College, Kumarapalayam, Namakkal District conducted a one day national level conference titled "Recent Developments in Chemistry and Material Science- 2025" on 24th January 2025 in the College campus.

This programme was sponsored by TNSCHE (Tamil Nadu State Council for Higher Education, Chennai).

The various topics like synthesis and applications in nanomaterials, environmental research and pollution abatement, energy production & storage, solar cell applications, application of biotechnology in pollution control, biodiversity and sustainable development, novel methods for water treatment, current research in all branch of chemistry, photo catalysis and adsorption fuel cells/renewable energy systems, material science, solid waste management, medicine and health care.

- Dr. T. Senthil, Associate Professor, Department of Physics, North Eastern Hill University, Shillong, Meghalaya state
- Dr. J.B. Shubha, Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry, JSS Science and Technology University, Mysuru, Karnataka state
- Dr. N.V. Sushma, Assistant Professor in Chemistry, Don Bosco Institute of Technology, Bengaluru, Karnataka state, were the special invitees and the resource persons.
- Dr. A. Renuka, Principal, Government Arts and Science College, Kumarapalayam, Namakkal District, presided over the programme.
- Dr. P. Mahalingam, Associate Professor and Head, Dr. P. Sivakumar, Associate Professor, Dr. M. Govindaraju, Assistant Professor, The Guest Faculty Members Dr. R. Revathi and Dr. R. Suganya, Department of Chemistry made arrangements.

On behalf of <u>Trinity College for Women, Namakkal</u>, Dr. N. Thangamani, Assistant Professor & Head, Department of Chemistry, the faculty of Chemistry Mrs. V. Indirakumari and Dr. S. Kalaivani along with the 17 students of M.Sc., Chemistry

actively took part. Apart from that, 9 students have presented their research papers in that national level seminar.

## **DEPARTMENT OF CHEMISTRY**

## PAPER PRESENTATION DETAILS (2024-25)

S.NO	STUDENT NAME	Year and Degree	TITLE OF THE RESEARCH PAPERS PRESENTED IN THE SEMINAR
1	Ms. M.Akshaya	Second year M.Sc., Chemistry	Eco-Friendly Synthesis of Nickel Oxide Nanoparticles Using <i>CertellaAriatila</i> and Evaluation of Their Antibacterial Activity
2	Ms.Sri.Anupama Naamagiri	Second year M.Sc., Chemistry	Biogenic Synthesis of Chromium Oxide (Cr <sub>2</sub> O <sub>3</sub> ) Nanoparticles Using <i>Ficus Racemosa</i> and Their Antifungal Activity
3	Ms.S.Divya	Second year M.Sc., Chemistry	Eco-Friendly Synthesis of Copper Oxide Nanoparticles Using <i>Manihot Esculenta</i> and Their Antioxidant Properties
4	Ms.A.Nandhini	Second year M.Sc., Chemistry	Green Synthesis of Cerium Oxide Nanoparticles Using <i>Carissa Carandas</i> : A Novel Approach to Antidiabetic Applications
5	Ms.S.Rashika	Second year M.Sc., Chemistry	Biogenic Synthesis of Manganese Dioxide Nanoparticles Using <i>EcliptaProstrata</i> : A Green Approach to Mosquito Larvicidal Applications
6	Ms.S.Revathi	Second year M.Sc., Chemistry	Eco-Friendly Synthesis of Cuprous Oxide (Cu <sub>2</sub> O) Nanoparticles Using <i>MicheliaChampaca</i> : A Promising Antibacterial Agent
7	Ms.C.Sandhiya	Second year M.Sc., Chemistry	Biogenesis of Zirconium Oxide (ZrO <sub>2</sub> ) Nanoparticles Using <i>Solanum Trilobatum</i> and Their Antifeedant Activity on <i>Oreochromis Mossambicus</i>
8	Ms.K.Suvasri	Second year M.Sc., Chemistry	Sustainable Synthesis of Magnesium Oxide (MgO) Nanoparticles Using <i>Mentha</i> and Their Antioxidant Activity
9	Ms.G.Vineha	Second year M.Sc., Chemistry	Plant extract mediated Synthesis of Bismuth Oxide (Bi <sub>2</sub> O <sub>3</sub> ) Nanoparticles Using <i>Achyranthes Aspera</i> : A Novel Antifungal Agent
10	Ms. U. Devapriya	First year M.Sc.,	Actively Participated

		J	
11	Ms. S. Gowsika	First year M.Sc., Chemistry	Actively Participated
12	Ms. G.K. Kokilavani	First year M.Sc., Chemistry	Actively Participated
13	Ms. M. Naveena	First year M.Sc., Chemistry	Actively Participated
14	Ms. T. Preethi	First year M.Sc., Chemistry	Actively Participated
15	Ms. L. Priya	First year M.Sc., Chemistry	Actively Participated
16	Ms. J.Sobiya	First year M.Sc., Chemistry	Actively Participated
17	Ms. R.Thrisha	First year M.Sc., Chemistry	Actively Participated

Chemistry

It is noted that Ms.S. Revathi, second year M.Sc., Chemistry got the best paper presentation award and Ms. G. Vineha, second year M.Sc., Chemistry obtained the best abstract presentation award from the chief guests.

All the above said participants are greeted by Mrs. Aruna Selvaraj, Executive Director, Dr. M.R. Lakshiminarayanan, Principal, Dr. Arasuparameswaran, Coordinator, Silver Jubilee Celebrations, The Administrative Officer Mr. N.S. Senthilkumar and the faculty of the College.